Daily Prompt: Proud

Daily Prompt: Proud.

Birthday cards from my parents are variations on a theme. Generally, they will say that they love me and that they’re proud of me.

I know that they love me. I always wonder if they’re really proud of me.

I am the less successful, divorced, barely keeping her head above water daughter. I still have to go to them for the occasional emergency, because I don’t have the funds to solve it myself. I owe them a lot of money, and I’m not sure when I’m going to be able to pay them back. I’m in a complicated, wonderful relationship with a guy, but I’m not willing to tell them about it, because I’m afraid that if I do, they won’t understand and they won’t like me anymore. Most days, when it comes to them, I feel like I’m a disappointment.

I look at my life and where I am and I’m proud of myself. I may be like a toddler, taking her first shaky steps, but I’m finally turning my life into what I want it to be. I’m toddling toward where I want to go. I still need the occasional helping hand from friends and family, but I’m getting better.

The things I would change about my life right now are things that are really out of my control to begin with. I’m proud of who I am and where I am.

I just wish I could be satisfied with that, and not worry about what the rest of the world thinks sometimes…

11 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Proud

  1. Being proud of yourself is a beautiful thing
    Being proud of others is also beautiful
    Maybe the world is proud of you too
    Have a beautiful weekend

    Daniel angel from Cape Cornwall

  2. Taking pride in your own accomplishments, being proud of who you are and who you are turning into, is far more important than having anyone else be proud of you. Great post.

  3. Thank you for sharing. Continue to be proud of yourself and what you do. You are a caring and loving person ; that is why you care about what your parents’ think. I am sure they are very proud of you but being parents’, they want to protect you for all the evil of the world.

  4. I have been in your situation, though I was divorced twice, I was lucky third time around! Some of us just take longer to find out who we are and what we want from life.
    Just never give up and grab every opportunity when it appears. :-) I’m glad you have good parents, you must be proud of them too!

Leave a Reply

